2017

And then… it was over.

Welcome 2018. Here my small recap of this 2017, which re-invented me completely.

This 2017 left me such beautiful travels and wonderful memories that made me believe again in the capacity of self-healing. I cannot thank enough to all the people that were there for me during all these years of pain and doubt.

Eastern

A lovely trip to London. That city is always refreshing, there is always something to do and something new to discover. There was a food truck festival near the Greenwich Observatory and we enjoyed delicious cider and pulled pork sandwiches. I bought a beautiful skirt made with African fabric and patterns. (I know Africa is huge, just can’t remember where was it from… I think it was from West Africa -to reduce the guessing somewhat).

I visited one of my best friends, we know each other since high-school. Actually we spent several years without talking to each other because he was my first love. So how come we stopped talking? Well, back then he was pretty confused about who he was. I was already in college when he suddenly reappeared in my life and since then, months can pass by without seeing or talking to each other, but each time we meet it seems time never passed.

It was cool to talk pure non sense with him or even have some deep converstations about spirituality and religion. He is catholic, and I am not, so I everytime I find his experiences with his religiosty pretty interesting.

The cheery trees were blooming, my allergie was terrible, and still it was just absolutely gorgeous. Bough also a Totoro t-shirt because I will never stop liking some cartoon characters, walk hours through Camden, ate Korean-Mexican fusion and Greek food.

London is just always good for my soul (just as Berlin). It is big, loud, vibrant.

June

Sea, sea, and more sea. Was desperately looking for the sun and so I found a cheap flight to Pula. Convinced a friend to come with me and voilá. Pula is a nice city, as probably any other city on the Istria Peninsula and Dalmation Coast. Croatia’s coast has just this different joie de vivre, the perfect combination of a Roman past and a Balkan present.

We walked through the marmol streets and also visit Rovinj. Couldn’t resist to buy jewlery (Croatia has a lot of jewelery ateliers and designers), end up finding a Mexican place (as it usually happens, I don’t search for them, they find me) and tasting a home made sort of tequila together with a Croatian pivo.

We swam and enjoyed the sun. Met casually some friends from Munich and made party one night. Talked to funny French guys and drank several glasses of Biska.

Pula as some other cities in Croatia shows its Roman history, it has a small colliseum and its center is made of marble. There are some cute souvenir stores with locally-made products, from cremes or lotions to clothes.

I see the Balkans as my lucky place, I am just happy whenever I am there, I have met great friends and have always enjoyed my time. I was just thankful I could go again.

August

A dream came true: I went to Guča’s Trompet Festival. Since I have been living in Europe it was in my bucket list. Well, I finally did it. It made me feel so alive, it reminded me who I was before I cracked.

Good beer, good wine, awesome rakija and the best, really affordable. Delicious food and Balkan brass bands all over the place. Yo go to bed around 2 or 3 am just to wake up to the sound of more trompets around 7 am. You can’t stop, my body was all the time vibrating with joy.

In the heart of Serbia, there is this small town called Guča, which has been holding this trompet festival for about 57 years. I would say every year more and more people know about it and so you can even find people from Australia or the United States.

My friend and I got to know a friendly couple from The Netherlands -the husband spoke really good Serbian, which was pretty helpful to get around, and an awesome guy from England who travels every year solo since 4 years ago to Guča just to have fun and dance.

I end up one night getting pretty wasted, but it was worth it. I couldn’t help it, the rakija started flowing -for free- and the musicians were playing with such power, it was inevitable to fell into the spirit of the Slavs.

One day we had a nice visit to the orthodox monasteries near the town and chill some hours at a pool -the small region is also popular for spa and relaxation places. It was impressive to see this ancient frescos and some of the monasteries are still functioning.

We stayed at the house of a Serbian family where the grandmother would serve every morning breakfast. The first morning beside the delicios Burek and coffee, we got a shot of rakija 🙂 She drank with us of course, and so it began our little adventure through this non-stop party full of trumpet power.

November

Home, sweet home. 8 years had passed since the last time I was home for the “Día de Muertos” (Day of the Dead), so this time I just enjoyed it fully. The happiness I felt when flying was unbeliable. I haven’t feel like that the last 3 years but it finally happened. The cracks were there to remind me the battle, but now they were allowing the light to pass through.

I just enjoy to the fullest my family, my friends, my food, my weather, my colors, my sounds, etc. I embrace my city again completely. I fell again in love with certain places. I had myself my back.

I almost cried when I arrived to Oaxaca because this is me, I cry when I am happy, and I cry when I am sad or angry. Such a bundle of feelings. Walking again through the center of Oaxaca, drinking chocolate and eating ‘cecina’ and ‘tasajo’, just made me want to cry of the pure bliss I was feeling.

On the other hand, I was lucky to also make a small travel with my family to Peru. I visit a friend whom I hadn’t seen since 7 years and I made party like there was no tomorrow despite my injured knee.

Before fliying home I had a bike accident which left me a broken ligament. But there I was, and here I am.

I am just so grateful. Machu Picchu left me completly amazed and I wanted to believe in the magic of the place. With and orthesis and walking stocks, I almost made it to the very top. Cusco gave some trouble with its hills and leaned streets, but I enjoy every little pain. Of course I was careful, but I had my strength and the doctor’s permission to allow myself to enjoy and not let the accident ruin my days.

In the end, it was just one “knee”. It could have been worse. Despite the pain, I was extremely happy my year ended this way. Fortunately I got surgery before the end of it and now I am just happy for this chance. I am happy for having found me again. I am happy it is finally over.

Leave a comment